Mohammed (Kholy) Elkholy – Women Deliver
2020

Mohammed (Kholy) Elkholy

  • Age: 27
  •    |   He/him/his

Region:

Country of Origin:

Country of Residence:

Expertise Areas:

We must never forget to include minorities and support youth and adolescents for better decision-making processes regarding their sexual reproductive health and rights.

- Mohammed (Kholy) Elkholy

Bio

Mohammed (Kholy) Elkholy was born and raised in Egypt. He received a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery from The University of Al-Azhar in 2019. As a YPEER Center Coordinator at Egyptian Family Planning Association, Kholy assists YPEER national network in planning, implementation, and monitoring of the activities, designs and agrees on the annual work plan in cooperation with Y-PEER core team, ensures the continuity of partnerships with youth NGOs working in SRH and HIV/AIDS prevention, and expands partnerships to cover all over Egypt. Previously, he was a YPEER Egypt Focal Point In-Charge, IFMSA Egypt Training Support Division General Assistant, Human Resources Manager at Misr Foundation For Health and Sustainable Development, National Coordinator of Medical Events at “Masar Campaign” at Life Makers Foundation, and “Elelm Qwa” project KaferElshiekh Governorate Coordinator at Life Makers Foundation.

What ignited your pursuit for gender equality?

I grew in a village in a rural area, and since my childhood I have witnessed GBV every day, and like everybody in a village, I didn’t even know that this is violence. Later I knew better, but sadly, almost everyone living in a village doesn’t.

Please share your biggest wins as an advocate for gender equality.

I supported a youth program regarding GBV in the delivery of a nationwide outreach campaign “Youth Population Awareness Bus” as an intern at UNFPA. My responsibilities were to qualify 100 young volunteers to participate in the mega-event targeting 12,000 persons and presenting their needs and recommendations to MOYS, MOHP, and NPC.

Outside of your gender equality advocacy work, what do you enjoy doing?

I usually play volleyball and video games. I also enjoy watching movies and TV shows.

Languages Spoken:

  • Arabic (Advanced/Native)
  • English (Advanced/Native)

Join the Community