Saadman Faisal – Women Deliver
2020

Saadman Faisal

  • Age: 24
  •    |   He/him/his

Region:

Country of Origin:

Country of Residence:

Expertise Areas:

The rural women of Bangladesh hold the fabric of Bangladesh’s society together. I believe that is the case in every part of the world. Equality for women in every sector of the society must be attained for the progression of humanity.

- Saadman Faisal

Bio

Saadman Faisal was born and raised in Bangladesh. He is currently working toward a Master of Science in Economics at North South University. As a Social Inclusion Officer at BRAC Bangladesh, Saadman is responsible for ensuring equal participation from all the genders within the “perception change of youth regarding skills training” project through regular inspection, assisting the social inclusions team with its social inclusion training of BRAC, SDP field staff, and writing periodic project papers for a variety of different projects within the program. As Founder at Fresh Tag, a non-profit business tackling food waste, Saadman is currently spearheading the fund collection process for the start up. Additionally, he is a Youth Advocate at Youth Ag Summit.

What ignited your pursuit for gender equality?

Bangladesh is a deeply patriarchal society. The constant barrage of discriminatory act against our women motivated me to do something about this issue in our society. I think working at the grassroot level is the right way of solving this problem, and that's why I started working with BRAC.

Please share your biggest wins as an advocate for gender equality.

BRAC Bangladesh’s field employees engage with millions of rural women and other stakeholders in the country every day. My biggest win was to be part of the revolutionary gender and safeguarding training that we gave to these employees so that they can properly engage with our beneficiaries in the field.

Outside of your gender equality advocacy work, what do you enjoy doing?

I am innately passionate about landscape photography, which is also the reason why I like to travel a lot.

Languages Spoken:

  • Bengali (Advanced/Native)
  • English (Advanced/Native)
  • Hindi (Intermediate)
  • French (Elementary)

Speaks On:

  • LGBTQIA+ rights on education and training in developing nations
  • economic empowerment of women and LGBTQIA+ populations
  • effect of climate and environment on women in developing countries

Past Awards, Certifications, or Fellowships:

  • Winner of Youth Ag Summit (2019)
  • Delegate at Youth Ag Summit (2019)
  • Winner of Carbon Footprint Challenge (2018)
  • Safeguarding training certificate from BRAC

Join the Community