Ruchika Kanoi – Women Deliver

Apply for the Emerging Leaders for Change Program East Africa Cohort!

Apply Today

Ruchika Kanoi

  • Age: 31
  •    |   She/her/hers


Country of Origin:

Country of Residence:

Expertise Areas:

When women realize their true potential, no force in this universe can stop them from attaining equality. We, as women and youth, can support all women in creating their own paths to equality by providing tools to bring forth their aspirations and enhance their knowledge and skills.

- Ruchika Kanoi


Ruchika Kanoi was born and raised in India. She received a Master of Arts in Social Work from Tata Institute of Social Sciences in 2017. As Enriche Outreach and Monitoring and Evaluation Coordinator at Barefoot College International, Ruchika is responsible for planning and implementation, monitoring and evaluation, community outreach, workshop curriculum, and resource development, facilitating workshops on various topics, developing pedagogy for programmatic workshop facilitation skills and training the trainers, and managing and mentoring volunteers.

What ignited your pursuit for gender equality?

My upbringing and lived experiences have been critical in exposing me to gender inequalities that persist in Indian society. However, it was the infamous Delhi gang rape in 2012 that triggered my passion and made me realize, question, and understand underlying issues to work for gender equality.

Please share your biggest wins as an advocate for gender equality.

As a trainer and workshop facilitator, I have facilitated workshops with around 1,500 rural women on the Enriche Curriculum, which focuses on the socio-economic empowerment of women. These workshops have increased the knowledge and skills, provided safe spaces for women to share and understand their struggles and issues, and start dialoguing on and questioning existing norms collectively beyond any social boundaries. It is known to us that these women participants share this gained knowledge in their communities, which is a big win in this journey of achieving gender equality collectively.

Outside of your gender equality advocacy work, what do you enjoy doing?

I love traveling and exploring the cultures and traditions of different communities. I am big time foodie and learning to master the art of cooking. I also enjoy watching movies and series, reading, and have recently developed a keen interest in farming.

Languages Spoken:

  • English (Advanced/Native)
  • Hindi (Advanced/Native)
  • Assamese (Intermediate)
  • Rajasthani (Intermediate)

Speaks On:

  • menstrual health hygiene and practices in rural settings
  • domestic violence and challenges in rural communities

Past Awards, Certifications, or Fellowships:

  • Application of Human Rights Framework - The Basics Online Course by Asian Institute of Human Rights on Udemy (May 2018)