Jordan Chanetsa – Women Deliver
2020

Jordan Chanetsa

  • Age: 25
  •    |   She/her/hers

Region:

Country of Origin:

Country of Residence:

Expertise Areas:

It is important that we as humans are able to accept diversity within our species. The perspectives of people within marginalized communities such as the LGBTQIA+ community are important to consider in our work toward gender equality and equity. We can not leave any voice unheard.

- Jordan Chanetsa

Bio

Jordan Chanetsa was born and raised in Zimbabwe. She received a National Senior Certificate from the National School of the Arts. As an Enhanced Peer Mobilizer at Population Services International, Jordan is responsible for mobilizing men who have sex with men (MSM) and sex workers to access the free sexual health services provided by the organization. Jordan is also the Co-executive Producer and Coordinator of the Her Hour podcast at The Incubator Hub, where she curates content to be discussed on the podcast and helps organize the guests and locations used for video shoots. Additionally, Jordan is a member of the Harare Queers Collective.

What ignited your pursuit for gender equality?

My pursuit for gender equality began when I began my personal transition to becoming a woman. When I began to transition, I noticed that transgender women are left out of so many dialogues and spaces, which pushed me to fight for our inclusion.

Please share your biggest wins as an advocate for gender equality.

I helped to change the categorization of transgender women from men who have sex with men (MSM) to having a separate transgender (TG) category with Population Services International. I also won the Gender Champion award through my advocacy work, which afforded me a grant of up to $5,000 USD.

Outside of your gender equality advocacy work, what do you enjoy doing?

I enjoy reading, writing poetry, and performing different mediums of performance such as spoken word, music, and acting. I love to spend time with my family and friends. I enjoy food and exploring different tastes. I enjoy spending time in nature, as well as seeing new places and trying new things.

Languages Spoken:

  • English (Advanced/Native)

Speaks On:

  • LGBTQIA+ rights
  • inclusion of LGBTQIA+ persons in the workplace
  • inclusion of transgender women in women-led groups and the global women's forum

Past Awards, Certifications, or Fellowships:

  • Gender Champion Award for the Zimbabwean Dutch Embassy's 16 days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence Campaign

Join the Community