Maria Jose Corrales Rivera – Women Deliver

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Sign up here

Maria Jose Corrales Rivera

  • Age: 30
  •    |   She/her/hers


Country of Origin:

Country of Residence:

Expertise Areas:

Empowerment and leadership are often held as discourses, but taking them into action requires inclusion of all people. To provide girls and women in vulnerable communities with tools, you ensure the development of whole countries and the world.

- Maria Jose Corrales Rivera


Maria Jose Corrales Rivera was born and raised in Costa Rica. She received a law degree from the University of Costa Rica in 2019. Since then, she has worked as a Legal Advisor at different companies throughout a variety of industries. Moreover, Maria was an advisor for the Legal Clinics of the University of Costa Rica, focusing on vulnerable communities in San José, volunteer at the Sex Workers Association, and volunteer at multinational companies in environmental projects and a social project to develop strategies for young people aged 15 to 23 living in vulnerable communities to enter the labor world and leadership roles.

What ignited your pursuit for gender equality?

I grew up in a vulnerable community with many privileges compared to my neighbors who were involved in violence in the nuclear family, drugs, and lack of interest in continuing their education. While studying for a law degree, I looked for ways to help people in vulnerable conditions, such as those with disabilities or lack of education. As a legal professional, she has obtained tools and implement strategies for the economic empowerment of young girls and women through different legal mechanisms.

Please share your biggest wins as an advocate for gender equality.

Even though most Costa Rican law students and lawyers are women, there are a lot of sexist practices up to date, from the distribution of work, discrimination of working mothers and differences in salaries based on the gender of the person. Signaling these practices in law firms helped to develop more fair and equal policies for my colleagues coming forward. Speaking up wasn’t easy, but it was necessary. I also fought for equal payment in the same work positions.

Outside of your gender equality advocacy work, what do you enjoy doing?

I love cooking for my family and friends, as well as drinking coffee with them. I also enjoy watching series of all genres, as well as to listening to music and reading a good book.

Languages Spoken:

  • English (Advanced/Native)
  • Spanish (Advanced/Native)
  • French (Elementary)
  • Portuguese (Elementary)

Speaks On:

  • economic empowerment in developing countries
  • women's participation in leadership roles
  • girls and women in STEM